Meeting Register Page

Truth or Trust: The Media's Role in Countering Disinformation
Debunking disinformation has become a daily routine all over the planet. In newsrooms as well as in companies or political institutions thousands of journalists, fact checkers and IT-people are busy chasing down misleading news and stories on the internet - and countering them by their own, supposedly more correct narratives.The war on information is already a reality. And the question of who will win is not necessarily the most interesting one.

At what point do “alternative facts” become targeted disinformation? And how can we strike a balance between liberal enthusiasm for diversity on the one hand - and the call for clamping down on views that run contrary to our perspectives on the other?
Does it really make sense to contain disinformation by spreading your own version of the “truth”? What other measures might be more effective?
What do we reply when being accused of disseminating “propaganda” as well?
And what can we do to strengthen audiences' trust in our reporting?

We want to discuss these (and more) questions with

Jakub Kalenský, journalist; until 2018 team lead on disinformation of the EU´s East StratCom Task Force; currently disinformation lead of the Eurasia Center’s Ukrainian Election Task Force; senior fellow at the Atlantic Council in Prague.

Oksana Romaniuk, journalist; executive director of the Kyiv-based Institute of Mass Information (IMI) since 2013; former correspondent of the UNIAN news agency; longstanding representative of Reporters Without Borders in Ukraine

Join us on Tuesday, 30 November 2021,
3.30 to 4.30 pm CET
4.30 to 5.30 pm Kyiv time
6.30 to 7.30 pm Tbilisi/ Yerevan time

The debate will be held in English, interpretation into Russian will be provided.
Meeting logo
Loading
* Required information