Meeting Register Page

BIO 2021 Editorial Excellence Award: Bob Bender
Bob Bender will receive BIO’s 2021 Editorial Excellence Award, presented annually to an outstanding editor of biography, at an event featuring Marie Arana, David W. Blight, Scott Eyman, and Jeff Guinn.

Bender is Vice President and Executive Editor of Simon & Schuster, where he has worked since 1981. Authors that he has published also include Muhammad Ali, Miles Davis, Jonathan Eig, David Hackett Fischer, Linda Greenhouse, John Kerry, Naomi Klein, Pauline Maier, David McCullough, Gilda Radner, James Shapiro, and Jean Edward Smith.

Kai Bird, chair of BIO’s Award Committee, with Tim Duggan, Ruth Franklin, Peniel Joseph, Candice Millard, and Will Swift, praised Bender for his “cultivation and support for so many illustrious biographers over many decades.”

Marie Arana is Literary Director of the Library of Congress and the former editor-in-chief of The Washington Post's Book World. She is the author of Bolívar: American Liberator, winner of the LA Times Book Prize for Biography, and other works of nonfiction, memoir, and fiction.

David W. Blight is Sterling Professor of History at Yale University and the author or editor of a dozen books, including Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom, which won BIO's Plutarch Award and the Pulitzer Prize.

Scott Eyman was the literary critic at The Palm Beach Post and is author or co-author of 15 books, including biographies of John Wayne, Cecil B. DeMille (Empire of Dreams), Louis B. Mayer (Lion of Hollywood), John Ford (Print the Legend), Henry Fonda and James Stewart (Hank and Jim).

Jeff Guinn, the former books editor at the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, is the bestselling author of many books, including War on the Border, Vagabonds, The Road to Jonestown, Manson, Go Down Together, The Last Gunfight, and The Autobiography of Santa Claus.

BIO’s Editorial Excellence Award has been presented since 2014. Past recipients are Tim Duggan, Robert Gottlieb, Gayatri Patnaik, Jonathan Segal, Ileene Smith, Nan A. Talese, and Robert Weil.

Nov 18, 2021 07:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

* Required information