Meeting Register Page

Half Day Seminar: Patterns of the Past, Weaving Heritage in 'Pakistani' Art
Saturday, 18 September 2021, 1-3pm BST (British Summer Time)
5 - 8pm Pakistan Time Zone.
5.30 - 8.30pm India Time Zone.

This programme will pivot around the themes of the show, Patterns of the Past: Weaving Heritage in Contemporary ‘Pakistani’ Art, which includes artists Ruby Chishti, Adeela Suleman, Liaqat Rasul, David Chalmers Alesworth and Bushra Waqas Khan (Nominee for the Jameel Art Prize 2021). The exhibition brings together these contemporary artists because each of them explores the politics of memory in their work and have used textiles to unravel conventional notions of art, heritage and identity. They have worked with textiles, and via textiles, to fabricate complex comments on colonialism, unraveling its relationship to current socio-political concerns in the Subcontinent. Hence, even though these 5 artists have been defined as ‘Pakistani’, none of them are easy fits for the term. The especially ‘tailored’ works within the show dismantle inter/national stereotypes about ‘Pakistani art’ and the Conference has a similar aim. It will pull on certain thematic threads: South Asian heritage and textile history; ideas of British identity; current de-colonising agendas with regard to both art history and British museum collections.

Speakers will include the exhibiting artists (who will explain their contributions for the show) as well as Prof. Salima Hashmi, Zohreen Murtaza, Uthra Rajgopal, Roisin Inglesby, Amrita Jhaveri and Prof. Shehnaz Ismail.

Sep 18, 2021 01:00 PM in London

Loading
* Required information