Zoom Logo

Training Session 2: Donald Noble, ELR - Shared screen with speaker view
Cassie Shirley
46:30
How do we know we have completed all the requirements for training?
David Fulmer
54:56
If your institution has multiple sites/facility codes does the 85/15 rule apply to each facility code or the institution as a whole?
David Fulmer
55:20
Thank you!
Michael Redd
55:59
The definition of supported students is too convoluted to accomplish the stated goal of the VA.
Michael Redd
56:23
ok
Travis Simpson
59:26
Does a mini semester count as a regular term? We just had a mini semester start Oct 4 will that be the date or Spring semester that is the next full semester?
Latoya.Josey
01:00:15
We submitted a 35%exemption request back in February but never heard anything back.
Cassie Shirley
01:01:08
We have a 15 week standard term and a 1st session & 2nd session within that term. Do we need to submit calculations for all three?
Gail.Daniel
01:01:59
Where do we find the 35% exemption form?
Michael Redd
01:03:17
If it is not based on FTE, why do we have to report FTE on the 85/15 form?
Malika Amlett
01:04:27
Is there a template for reporting?
gholstonn
01:06:46
I apologize, but no matter how many time I hear this. It is all greek to me. I have never done the 85/15 or 35% exemption,
gholstonn
01:07:28
I'm out here stressing how to even begin.
Willie M. Harris
01:09:16
I am confused!!!!
dsmith
01:10:39
Where can we find the forms to submit our 35% exemption request?
Latoya.Josey
01:11:39
So now with the reset...does everyone need to submit another exemption request even if they submitted one before?
Debbie Garrett
01:12:30
For VAONCE what is the additional form other than 22-8794?
Cassie Shirley
01:12:43
In simple terms can you define a supported student?
Lisa B
01:14:58
If your total student enrollment for the college is over 50,000 and total number of veterans are approximately 1500, is it safe to say the college should be eligible for the exemption
Lisa B
01:16:39
For schools with over 200 degree programs, can a spreadsheet be used to list the programs for the exemption application?
John Sheeley
01:17:51
Pardon me if I missed this, but If a college has multiple campuses, do we base the 35% on total students across the campuses or each site has to have a separate one?
Debbie Garrett
01:18:43
Is it safe to say if we have semester classes and submit that within 30 days of the term start date, that we also submit all mini mester information at a later time as well?
Michael Redd
01:20:16
But that is not FTE, that isa head count and on the 35% waiver form.
Travis Simpson
01:21:12
He is saying one form is one way and the other form is different
Travis Simpson
01:21:21
81/15 is FTE and 35 is head count
Lisa B
01:22:50
Does anyone have an 85/15 Argos report they would like to share?
kay.paul
01:25:24
We have a total of 7 extension campuses in addition to the main campus. Some students are enrolled at multiple campuses. Do we have to count those student for all those campuses? I really need help! Thank You
gholstonn
01:25:55
Thank you, I would appreciate that.
Cassie Shirley
01:25:57
I apologize if I missed it - but where is the template for reporting, in excel format?
Susan Lovell
01:27:13
For the schools who have figured out the 85/15 and 35% calculations, will you be willing to share how you calculated your numbers?
Travis Simpson
01:28:11
If we have to provide the 85/15 when the VA asks for it even if we have an exemption. VA states we need to keep the 85/15 on file even with the exemption. What's the purpose of the exemption.
Michael Redd
01:28:49
But there are more than just VA students that are deemed supported.
Lisa B
01:30:10
Yes, I think so
Lisa B
01:31:13
Will the presentations be available on the GAVCO website?
Travis Simpson
01:31:16
Some college like us also extended out our payment deadlines past 30 days after the semester starts which inflates our supported students. Also using COVID funds to discharge their balance I believe will make those students become supported students.
Cassie Shirley
01:32:46
I'm sorry, repeat that
Lisa B
01:33:41
My brain just exploded.
mwalker
01:34:07
That was clear as mud.
John Sheeley
01:35:34
That was definitely written by lawyers
Cassie Shirley
01:35:48
The third bullet point is what I needed clarification on.
John Sheeley
01:36:05
Some practical examples would be helpful. Something like "Joe has 400 students...blah blah blah"
Cassie Shirley
01:36:43
I have 400 students on my payment plan but their payment term is 5 months. So, they will not be paid within the 30 days I have to report. Are they supported or non-supported?
John Sheeley
02:02:50
Ok, but if 85/15 is FTE and 35 is headcount, how does that work with multiple campuses? I get it for the 85/15, but is the same rule for 35%?
Annie Bresler
02:03:37
We previously received information from the ELR that Rounding Out could be used with any VA educational benefit - to include ch. 35. We thought that we saw information somewhere that STEM scholarship students CANNOT round out in their final term. However, we do not know where we got this information. Can you confirm whether STEM students can Round Out in their final term?
Debbie Garrett
02:06:56
No, but thanks.
Annie Bresler
02:08:13
The VA recently changed the calculation for the TT/FT field in VA ONCE for ch. 33 graduate students enrolled on shorter terms (the SCO now calculates the full-time modifier using the method provided during the August Office Hours). Do we need to change the way we calculate the graduate training levels (full-time, 3/4, 1/2) for ch. 35 or ch. 1606 students on shorter terms as well?
kay.paul
02:10:42
I think so. The auditors always come to Branch campus.
kay.paul
02:11:45
Is there someone in addition to Mr. Noble we can speak to for assistance when he's not available?
Debbie Garrett
02:18:06
When submitting mini mester 85 15 information (after initial full term information) do we include only the mini mester students or all students again? Some full term students would have dropped or added by this time.
Debbie Garrett
02:22:04
C Term is a term alone, not a cohort.
Latrice Jones
02:22:39
Latrice Jones
mwalker
02:22:40
Melanie w
Brooke Bruton
02:22:41
Brooke Bruton
Malika Amlett
02:22:44
Malika Amlett - mamlett@atlantatech.edu
John Sheeley
02:22:48
John Sheeley lsheeley@gmc.edu
Cassie Shirley
02:22:48
Cassie Shirley - cshirley@piedmont.edu
crystal.dixon
02:22:48
Crystal Dixon c-
Anne Antognazzi
02:22:50
Anne Antognazzi, anne.antognazzi@ung.edu
amorris
02:22:51
Allen Morris
Annie Bresler
02:22:54
Annie Bresler - ebresler@kennesaw.edu
Noah Huckaby
02:22:56
Noah Huckaby - nhuckaby@shorter.edu
melodie.pirone
02:22:56
Melodie Pirone, melodie.pirone@sctech.edu
Gail.Daniel
02:22:59
Gail S. Daniel, gail.daniel@sctech.edu
Elise Boyett
02:22:59
eboyett@ogeecheetech.edu, Elise Boyett
Stefane Raulerson
02:22:59
Stefane Raulerson sraulerson@augusta.edu
TiffanyYoung
02:23:01
Tiffany Young, Clayton State University tiffanyyoung@clayton.edu
fbarnes
02:23:01
Felina Barnes- fbarnes@augusta.edu
stithr
02:23:02
Ralph Stith Fort Valley State University stithr@fvsu.edu
Khandis Bell
02:23:04
Khandis Bell, kbell@gmc.edu
elizabeth.geisz
02:23:06
Elizabeth Geisz -elizabeth.geisz@life.edu Life University, Marietta
mwalker
02:23:07
Melanie Walker mwalker@southeasterntech.edu
Ben
02:23:08
Ben Wheatley, bwheatley@gmc.edu
Tamara Hicks
02:23:10
Tamara Hicks-thicks@columbustech.edu
Travis Simpson
02:23:11
Travis Simpson TravisSimpson@GwinnettTech.edu
Latrice Jones
02:23:13
Latrice Jonesldjones@agnesscott.edu
croberson
02:23:13
Clarissa Roberson - Croberson@gmc.edu
dsmith
02:23:15
dsmith@lincolntech.edu Donna Smith
Debbie Garrett
02:23:17
Debbie Garrett dgarrett@oftc.edu
jmorgan
02:23:18
Joan Morgan ...jmorgan@savannahtech.edu
mslade
02:23:20
Marcia Slade, mslade@shorter.edu
crystal.dixon
02:23:22
Crystal Dixon - crystal.dixon@northgatech.edu
Susan Lovell
02:23:23
Columbus State University: Susan Lovell, Stefanie Jenkins, Ameena Clark and Willie Harris in attending. Thank you!
Angel Grote
02:23:25
Angel Grote agrote@savannahtech.edu
amorris
02:23:26
amorris@gmc.edu
Latoya.Josey
02:23:26
LaToya Josey- latoya.josey@gsw.edu
kambella
02:23:27
Karen Ambellas-Cates kambella@gmc.edu
Debbie Garrett
02:23:29
Jennifer Thigpen jthigpen@oftc.edu
Angel Grote
02:23:31
Thank you!
Khandis Bell
02:23:32
Georgia Military College
rroach
02:23:35
Randolph Roach Randolph.roach@lutherrice.edu
Willie M. Harris
02:23:36
harris_willie@columbusstate.edu
mdelbridge
02:23:37
Melinda Delbridge mdelbridge@columbustech.edu
wendy lee
02:23:39
Wendy Lee WendyLee@Gwinnetttech.edu
gholstonn
02:23:40
Nathan Gholston gholstonn@gptc.edu
Olive Vidal-Kendall
02:23:43
Olive Vidal-Kendall ovidal-kendall@columbustech.edu
Debbie Garrett
02:23:44
Jakaela Strowbridge jstrowbridge@oftc.edu
schubb1
02:23:46
Satara Chubb - Georgia State University schubb1@gsu.edu
mholzman
02:23:46
Mark Holzman - mholzman@georgiasouthern.edu
Brother Labat
02:23:46
Marcus Labateduofficial2013mlabat@outlook.com
Willie M. Harris
02:23:58
harris_willie2@columbusstate.edu
jmorr290
02:24:00
Julie morris jmorr290@kennesaw.edu
Katrina
02:24:12
Katrina Autry kautry@daltonstate.edu
Lisa B
02:24:13
Lisa Boyd - wboyd@gsu.edu
dbarre13
02:24:29
Donna Barrett dbarre13@kennesaw.edu
dianesearcy
02:24:37
dianesearcy@aimm.edu
Abbie Lacienski
02:24:45
alacienski@georgiasouthern.edu
lbb3638
02:24:49
Lesley Eldridge lbb3638@kennesaw.edu
Susan Lovell
02:24:49
Columbus State University: Susan Lovell, Lovell_Susan@ColumbusState.edu, Stefanie Jenkins, Jenkins_Stefanie@ColumbusState.edu, Ameena Clark, Clark_Ameena@ColumbusState.edu and Willie Harris, Harris_Willie2@ColumbusState.edu in attending. Thank you!
Latrice Jones
02:24:58
Latrice Jones -ldjones@agnesscott.edu
rroach
02:25:08
Randolph Roach Randolph.roach@lutherrice.edu
Lisa B
02:25:18
Thanks!
gholstonn
02:25:35
Thank you all!
dpatterson
02:25:49
thank you