webinar register page

Webinar banner
Powell's Books Presents Susan DeFreitas with Lidia Yuknavitch, Michelle Ruiz Keil, David D. Levine, Leni Zumas & Curtis C. Chen


Nov 18, 2021 04:25 PM

* Required information


Susan DeFreitas
Susan DeFreitas is the author of the novel Hot Season, which won a Gold IPPY Award. Her work has been featured in the Writer’s Chronicle, the Huffington Post, the Utne Reader, Story magazine, Daily Science Fiction, Portland Monthly, and High Desert Journal, along with many other journals and anthologies. An American of Indo-Guyanese descent, she divides her time between Portland, Oregon, and Santa Fe, New Mexico, and has served as a freelance editor and book coach since 2009.
Lidia Yuknavitch
Lidia Yuknavitch is the author of the bestselling novels The Small Backs of Children, The Book of Joan, and Dora a Headcase, as well as the award-winning anti-memoir The Chronology of Water. Her book The Misfit's Manifesto is based on her Ted Talk "On the Beauty of Being a Misfit," now with over 4 million views. She is the recipient of three Oregon Book Awards. Her next novel Thrust is forthcoming from Riverhead summer 2022. She is the founder of Corporeal Writing. She is a very good swimmer.
Michelle Ruiz Keil
Michelle Ruiz Keil is the author of the critically acclaimed young adult novels Summer In The City of Roses and All of Us With Wings. Her writing for adults can be found most recently in Bitch, Cosmonauts Avenue, and The Buckman Journal. She is a 2021 Tin House Scholar and the recipient of residencies at Hedgebrook and The Sitka Center. Born in San Francisco, Michelle has lived in Portland, Oregon for many years where she curates the fairytale reading series All Kinds of Fur and lives with her family in a cottage where the forest meets the city.
David D. Levine
David D. Levine is the author of Andre Norton Award winning novel Arabella of Mars (Tor 2016), sequels Arabella and the Battle of Venus(Tor 2017) and Arabella the Traitor of Mars (Tor 2018), and over fifty SF and fantasy stories. His story “Tk’Tk’Tk” won the Hugo, and he has been shortlisted for awards including the Hugo, Nebula, Campbell, and Sturgeon. Stories have appeared in Asimov’s, Analog, F&SF, Tor.com, numerous Year’s Best anthologies, and his award-winning collection Space Magic.
Leni Zumas
Leni Zumas is the author of two novels (Red Clocks and The Listeners) and a story collection (Farewell Navigator). She teaches creative writing at Portland State University.
Curtis C. Chen
Once a Silicon Valley software engineer, Curtis C. Chen (陳致宇) now writes stories and runs puzzle games near Portland, Oregon. He's the author of the Kangaroo series of funny science fiction spy thrillers and has written for the Realm originals Ninth Step Murders, Machina, and Echo Park 2060 (forthcoming). Curtis' short fiction has appeared in Playboy Magazine, Daily Science Fiction, Oregon Reads Aloud, and elsewhere. His homebrew cat feeding robot was displayed in the "Worlds Beyond Here" exhibit at Seattle's Wing Luke Museum. Visit him online: https://CurtisCChen.com