webinar register page

Webinar banner
Primates You May Have Missed
Often we think of bioacoustics research in conjunction with bats, birds, or marine life. These presenters will make you think twice! Focusing on bioacoustics research monitoring primates such as loris in Indonesia, gibbons in China, and chimpanzees in Africa, this free webinar highlights the Primates You May Have Missed.


What to expect:
This webinar will be held over Zoom. Each presenter will have a 15 minute pre-recorded presentation followed by 15 minutes of live Q&A. Feel free to ask the questions in the chat, and upvote the questions in the Q&A feature.

Talks:

The world’s rarest primate: A machine learning journey

Ultrasonic communication to maintain social cohesion in the territorial and venomous Javan slow loris

Acoustically assessing apes: chimpanzee conservation with passive acoustic monitoring.

Webinar time based on location:
07:00 - 09:00 Pacific Standard Time
10:00 - 12:00 Eastern US Time
15:00 - 17:00 Greenwich Mean Time (UK)
16:00 - 18:00 Central European Time
20:30 - 22:30 India Standard Time
23:00 - 25:00 China Standard Time

Zoom version 5.4.2 or higher is required for the best experience. Joining by phone will allow you to hear most of the conference, but to really engage, we encourage you to be able to type in questions.

Jan 20, 2022 10:00 AM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
* Required information
Loading

Speakers

Dr. Emmanuel Dufourq
Dr Emmanuel Dufourq is a lecturer (data science) at Stellenbosch University, South Africa and is with the department of Industrial Engineering and School for Data Science and Computational Thinking. He is the AIMS-Canada junior research chair in data science for climate resilience. His research interest is now primarily on machine learning for conservation ecology. His talk will center around Hainan gibbons, one of the world’s rarest mammal species, with fewer than 33 individuals believed to exist in the wild.
Anna Nekaris
Working in the wild, zoos, museums, rescue centres and in the lab, Anna's main focus is on the conservation of Asian nocturnal animals, especially slow and slender lorises. Her work extends to African nocturnal primates, lemurs, colobines, and macaques. Having published just over 250 peer-reviewed articles, her research topics include: ecology and evolutionary adaptations related to mammalian venom; behavioural ecology using radio tracking and biologgers; communication and social behaviour of slow lorises; behavioural adaptations to climate change; conservation value of agroforestry systems; conservation education with an ecophilic approach. With nearly 30 years of research in 11 loris range countries, Anna is known as a leading expert in Asia's slow and slender lorises. Of her 70+ postgrad students, over 50 have completed research on lorises. She's also director of the Little Fireface Project, member of the IUCN Primates Specialist Group, and Co-Editor-in-Chief of Folia Primatologica.
Anne-Sophie Crunchant
Anne Sophie is a field primatologist and wildlife conservationist. She defended her PhD last year at Liverpool John Moores University (UK), where she evaluated passive acoustic monitoring as a tool for chimpanzee detection, density estimation and localisation. She has field experience across Central (Congo-Kinshasa and Congo-Brazzaville), West (Côte d’Ivoire), and East (Tanzania) Africa, living for extended periods in some of the remote parts of the continent. In her time in the field, she's studied wild populations of chimpanzees, bonobos and gorillas, spent hundreds of hours following individuals of each species, as well as innovating remote monitoring techniques using camera traps and acoustic monitoring to census eastern chimpanzees and bonobos.