webinar register page

Webinar banner
Texas abortion ban: what it means and what happens next
On September 1, the state of Texas implemented Senate Bill 8 (SB8) banning abortion after six weeks of pregnancy, including in cases of rape and incest. This is one of the most restrictive state laws on abortion in the country. In response, the US justice department has filed an emergency motion seeking to block enforcement of the state law while it pursues legal action. In contrast, the Supreme Court declined to block the ban, also known as the Texas Heartbeat Act.

Join us on October 20 for a webinar where we will discuss the Texas abortion ban, the strategies being pursued to stop its enforcement and the ban's implications for sexual and reproductive health and rights in the US and beyond.


SPEAKERS:

Dr. Kari White - Associate Professor in the Steve Hicks School of Social Work and Faculty Research Associate at the Population Research Center at The University of Texas

Dr. Samuel Dickman - Medical Director for Primary Care at Planned Parenthood South Texas

Melanie Fontes - Fellow at the Center for Reproductive Rights


MODERATOR:

Mindy Roseman - SRHM Associate Editor, Director of International Law Programs at Yale Law and Director of the Gruber Program for Global Justice and Women’s Rights


9am Austin
10am New York
4pm Geneva
7:30pm New Delhi

Oct 20, 2021 09:00 AM in Central Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: SRHM.